You can receive charges of driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol in Florida with blood alcohol content of 0.08% or higher. An officer can also arrest you for DUI if you show impairment.
Review the possible fines and jail time for a Florida DUI conviction before facing a court date.
No prior DUIs
You can expect to receive a fine of up to $1,000 and a minimum six-month license suspension for a first-time DUI. The state can also impound your car for 10 days. In some cases, you can receive up to six months in jail. The judge can increase a sentence for BAC above 0.15% or other extenuating circumstances, such as DUI with a minor in the vehicle.
Florida increases possible DUI penalties if you already have convictions for this offense. A second DUI within five years of the first carries a mandatory jail sentence of at least 10 days along with a fine of up to $2,000. The state will suspend your license for five years.
If you face a third DUI conviction in a decade, you could receive a fine of up to $5,000. The mandatory jail sentence extends to 30 days. You may also lose your license for 10 years.
These guidelines provide Florida judges a template for DUI sentencing. However, they have the discretion to change the outcome for better or worse depending on the circumstances of your case. For example, you may qualify for a suspended sentence if you agree to attend a drug treatment program.