Attorney Image
Attorney Image Home

The Name You Know.
The Name You Trust.

The Name You
The Name You

We have deep ties to the community, we have represented clients in Southwest Florida for more than 25 years.

What you should know about ignition interlock devices

If you have been charged and convicted with a DUI in Florida, you may have been forced to use an ignition interlock device on your vehicle. According to state statutes, those who are convicted of two DUIs and qualifies for a restricted driver’s license must use an interlock device on their vehicle for at least one year. With three DUI convictions, that number increases to two years. Drivers who were convicted of a DUI while driving with a passenger who is under the age of 18 may be required to use an interlock device for six months.

What are these devices and what should you know about using them? Ignition interlock devices are hooked to the ignition system of the vehicle, with an attached dashboard monitor. Before the vehicle will start, drivers are asked to blow into a tube connected to the device. The machine then measures the amount of alcohol in your breath sample to determine whether you are able to drive. The car will not start if your blood alcohol level content is 0.02 percent or above. Once the vehicle does start, the driver will be required to submit periodic breath samples. If the driver should blow a breath sample that exceeds the set BAC level, the car will slow down and come to a stop.

All of the information regarding BAC levels, start-up attempts and failed attempts to start the vehicle is recorded and downloaded during the vehicle’s mandated IID maintenance appointments. Keep in mind that all costs associated with the IID are at the driver’s expense.

This information is intended to educate and should not be taken as legal advice.


FindLaw Network

We’re conveniently located in downtown Fort Myers, just one block from the federal and state courthouses.