If a law enforcement officer pulls you over in Florida under suspicion of driving under the influence, you must take a sobriety test at the scene. A blood alcohol content of 0.08% or higher can result in a DUI arrest, which can affect your driving privileges for some time.
Review the details about license suspension policies when facing a court date for Florida DUI.
No prior DUIs
You can lose your license for a minimum of 180 days even with no history of DUI in Florida. The state may also impound your vehicle for 10 days. In cases involving extenuating circumstances such as excessive BAC, the license revocation period could increase to up to a year.
Second DUI within five years
In Florida, if you get another DUI less than five years after the first, you could receive a license revocation for up to five years. The state can also impound your vehicle for 30 days. However, you could qualify for a limited occupational license once you serve a 12-month suspension.
Third DUI within 10 years
You could receive a 10-year license revocation for a third DUI within a decade. In this case, a work license may become available after 24 months. The vehicle impoundment period extends to 90 days.
DUI involving bodily injury or death
If you cause an accident that injures someone while under the influence, the license revocation period in Florida is three years for the first offense. Manslaughter DUI cases result in permanent revocation with a limited license potentially available after five years.
Drivers can request an administrative hearing for license suspension with the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles after a DUI arrest.