In Florida, drunk driving is a problem. The state works hard to enact penalties that will deter driving under the influence and make those who do it think twice before doing it again. If you are tempted to drive drunk, then you should consider what could happen to you if you are caught.
The Florida Legislature explains a blood alcohol level over 0.08 makes you guilty of a DUI. The possible punishments get harsher each time you get a DUI conviction. The first time, you could face up to six months in jail and a fine between $500 and $1,000. The second conviction brings up to nine months in jail, a fine between $1,000 and $2,000. In addition, you must have an ignition interlock device in every vehicle you own or lease for at least one year, for which you are responsible for paying all costs.
A third conviction could subject you to a felony charge if it occurs within 10 years of your previous conviction. You will be required to install ignition interlock devices for at least two years and to pay a fine between $2,000 and $5,000. You also face up to 12 months in jail.
If you happen to have any more DUIs, you will be charged with a felony and face fines and jail times higher and longer than that of a third DUI charge. You also will be required to have the ignition interlock device installed.
Certain situations may warrant harsher sentences even for first time offenders if someone was injured or killed, property damage occured or blood alcohol levels were above a certain amount. This information is for education and is not legal advice.